On 15 December at 11:00 a.m., the University of Maribor Will Present the Professor Bedjanič Award

The 46th ceremony f presenting the Professor Bedjanič Award will be held this year at the Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, the University of Maribor.

The Bedjanič Award has been presented since 1970 for outstanding scientific achievements in the field of electrical power engineering and automation. Its goal is to promote the university education and encourage students of Bachelor’s, Master’s and PhD study programs to conduct applied research projects. Professor Bedjanič and Professor Anton Ogorelec were at the root of establishing this award. Over its 46-year history, the award has gained a decent reputation associated with the Iskra Company as well as with the universities of Ljubljana and Maribor. In 2009, the Association of Slovenian Experts in Electrical Power Engineering CIGRÉ-CIRED was the sponsor of the award. The CIGRÉ-CIRED continues the awarding traditions in collaboration with the Faculties of Electrical Engineering of the two leading universities in Slovenia — Maribor and Ljubljana.

The Commission, which until January 2012 was headed by Professor Anton Ogorelec, strictly follows the scientific accuracy and applied value of works. Since 2013, Zvonko Toroš has headed the Commission.

So far, 288 awards have been presented: 163 of them went to the research staff of the University of Ljubljana, 61—to the University of Maribor, and 64—to the representatives of other universities. The awards were presented for 54 doctorate thesis, 90 master’s projects, and 144 diplomas. Among the award winners, there are many well-known scientists, university professors, businessmen, and experts of international level.

The awarding ceremony will take place on 15 December 2016 at 11:00 a.m. at the Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, with the address at Smetanova Street, 17, Maribor (room G2-P4 Delta, 2nd floor).

Source: um.si