A Teacher of the Computer Science Faculty from the University of Maribor Is the International Danubius Young Scientist Award Winner

The Austrian Federal Ministry of Science, Research and Economics (BMWFW) and the Institute for the Danube Region and Central Europe (IDM) founded this award in 2011 to encourage scientists for their extraordinary achievements, discoveries and intellectual products related to the Danube Region, which includes the following countries: Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Germany, Hungary, Moldova, Montenegro, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Romania, and Ukraine. The award is presented annually to 14 young scientists from these countries, one winner from each country, which is a part of the EU Strategy for the Danube Region.

Applicants for the Danubius Scientist Award may represent any scientific discipline. A university or a separate faculty has the right to introduce their candidacy. Each university has a right to provide only three candidates, who may be from different faculties, institutes or research groups. Expert jury considers applications, and the candidate with the highest final rating, representing a particular country, enters a small group of laureates. The representative of the Faculty of Electrical Engineering, Computer Science and Informatics from the University of Maribor was awarded for the second time. Last year, Associate Professor Dr. Domen Mongus became the owner of a similar award.

The aim of the award is to promote scientific research and talent of young scientists and improve the reputation of the academic community in the region as a whole. In addition, the award motivates young scientists to engage in studying complex issues and problems related to the Danube region.

Read more about the research work of Dr. Alesh Zamuda through the following link: labraj.feri.um.si


Source: um.si