Anže Kopitar Is the Europe’s National Team Captain at the World Cup of Hockey

Anže Kopitar is awarded a new honorary post. After his election as the Captain of the Los Angeles (NHL) Club, he was also selected as the Captain of the Europe’s National Team at the upcoming World Cup of Hockey, which will be held in Toronto, Canada.

The national teams from Canada, the United States, Russia, Finland, Sweden and the Czech Republic as well as the team of North America under the age of 23 will take part in the tournament in Toronto, which will be held from 17 September to 1 October 2016.

The Europe’s team members will be the hockey players who are not citizens of any of the four countries presenting their national teams. The legendary Slovak player Miroslav Shatan gathered 16 players, later another 7 hockey players above the age of 23 joined them. The Europe’s National Team coach is a Canadian citizen of Swiss origin—Ralph Krueger.

The World Cup with the best players of the NHL League and with the participation of national and continental teams will be drawn for the third time in a row. The first draw took place in 1996, the second in 2004. It goes about the successor to the Canada Cup Tournament (the Canada Cup), which was played for five times during the period from 1976 to 1991. The world’s best hockey players from the NHL, Europe and the Soviet Union took part in that tournament.


The World Cup, Toronto, Group A

Saturday, 17 September:
Europe – USA
Canada – Czech Republic

Monday, 19 September:
Czech Republic – Europe

Tuesday, 20 September:
Canada – USA

Wednesday, 21 September:
Canada – Europe

Thursday, 22 September:
Czech Republic – USA


The World Cup, Toronto, Group B

Sunday, 18 September:

Russia – Sweden

Monday, 19 September:

Finland – National Team of North America

Tuesday, 20 September:

National Team of North America – Russia

Finland – Sweden

Wednesday, 21 September:

National Team of North America – Sweden

Thursday, 22 September:

Finland – Russia

The top two teams from both groups will get to the semifinals (24 and 25 September). The finals will consist of two meetings (27 and 29 September). If teams have equal score, the third meeting on 1 October can be possible).