For the First Time in its History Slovenia Hosts the European Futsal Championship

From 30 January to 10 February 2018, Ljubljana will host the European Futsal Championship in the Stožice Sports Park.

Evropsko prvenstvo

In addition to the Slovenian national team, 11 teams will participate in the competition. The names of eight of them are already known. These are Spain—the current champion of Europe, Portugal—vice-champion, Italy, Russia, Ukraine, Kazakhstan and Azerbaijan.

The national futsal team of Slovenia, currently ranked 12th in the world rankings, participated five times in the continental championships in 2003, 2010, 2012, 2014 and 2016. Its best result is getting to the quarterfinals in 2014 in Belgium. However, the team was withdrawn from other European Championships right after the qualifying round.

Earlier, the Slovenian team did not participate in the Futsal World Championships, to which the teams are qualified through the European Championships.