Koper

Port Koper is the largest city in the Slovenian part of Istria. It is called the most vibrant and the brightest place at the coast of Slovenia. These qualities of the city attract tourists most of all in addition to its sights and a variety of commercial malls.

Koper is the oldest city of Slovenia. It survived the Roman Empire and the Byzantine Empire. The city has preserved monuments since the reign of the Republic of Venice.

Along the Slovenian coastline, Koper is the only city where tourists are offered a Koper city card. Owners of this card can use public transport, get discounts at local restaurants and visit a number of attractions. However, it should be noted that bus trips might not be useful. The main attractions of Koper can be walked around on foot. The city has many original and interesting monuments from the period of the Republic of Venice. 

The Praetorian Palace is the most famous city building. This beautiful palace with winged Venetian lions on the facade is located on the central Tito Square. Opposite the palace, there is the Loggia Palace resembling the Doge’s Palace in Venice. Inside the palace, there is a modern cafe and an art gallery, beloved by tourists, with a rich collection of 15th century paintings.

The Prešeren Square is decorated with the De Ponte fountain with four splashing deities. The house of the painter Vittore Carpaccio, representative of the Venetian school, is located on the same square. Made of stone and decorated with figured windows, it is located directly behind the Column of Justina, another attraction of Koper. The oldest building in the city is the Središče Rotunda.

The neighbourhood of the city is also interesting: the Socerb Castle, the Lipica stud farm, the Škocjanski zatok, the Debeli Rtič Cape, the Postojna Cave, the Piran aquarium, the Predjama Castle, and the Žusterna Aquapark. Fans of outdoor activities like Koper for its steep cliffs, where adventurers can polish their climbing skills, and a modern water sports park, where everyone can find an attraction to his or her taste. The city has also developed ski resort activities, which is not accidental. Not far from Koper, there is located a lot of Slovenian, Italian and Austrian ski trails. There are two city beaches in Koper—the central beach and the Žusterna beach, which is located 1 km from the centre.

Moreover, Koper hosts numerous festivals of choral singing and not only. The most famous ones are:

  1. Carnival (resembles the Russian Maslenitsa) at the end of February,
  2. Sweet Istria (carnival of sweets) in the middle of September,
  3. Squid Festival at the beginning of July,
  4. The Yellow Night (dedicated to the Slovenian traditions) on the last day of July.

In Koper, there is one of the main universities in Slovenia—the University of Primorska, founded in 2003. It trains approximately 5,400 students and employs more than 700 professors and academic staff. The most popular study programmes offered by the university are humanitarian programmes, business, management, nursing and nutrition, computer science, statistics, mathematics, and tourism.

The FC Koper football team is based in Koper and was founded in 1955. It is among three clubs that managed to win the Slovenian Championship.

Source: fb.ru

Копер

Портовый Копер – самый большой город словенской части Истрии. На побережье Словении его называют самым живым, самым светлым. Этим в первую очередь он и привлекателен для туристов, помимо своих достопримечательностей и разнообразных торговых моллов.

Копер – самый старый город Словении. Он пережил Римскую империю и Византию. В городе сохранились и памятники со времён владычества Венецианской республики.

На словенском побережье Копер – единственный город, где для туристов предлагается туристическая карта (Koper city card). Она позволяет пользоваться общественным транспортом, получать скидки в местных ресторанах и посетить ряд достопримечательностей. Однако стоит понимать, что поездки на автобусе могут и не пригодиться. Основные достопримечательности Копра можно обойти пешком. В городе сохранилось много памятников периода Венецианской республики, очень самобытных и интересных. 

Преторианский дворец – самое известное городское здание. Красивый дворец с крылатыми венецианскими львами на фасаде расположен на центральной площади Титов трг. Напротив него стоит Лоджия, напоминающая дворец Дожей в Венеции. В этом здании расположено любимое туристами современное кафе и художественная галерея с богатой коллекцией картин XV века.

Украшением Прешерновой площади является фонтан Де Понте с четырьмя плескающими божествами. Дом живописца Витторе Карпаччо, представителя венецианской школы, находится на одноимённой площади. Каменный с фигурными окнами он расположен неподалёку от колонны Юстины, ещё одной достопримечательностью Копра. Самым старым зданием в городе является Ротонда Вознесения.

Интересны также и окрестности города: замок Соцерб, Липицианский конезавод, мыс Дебели Ртич, Постойнска Яма, аквариум в Пиране, Предъямский замок, аквапарк Жустерна. Любители активного отдыха любят Копер за отвесные скалы, где можно отточить альпинистские навыки, и современный парк водных развлечений, где можно найти аттракцион на любой вкус. В городе также развит горнолыжный отдых, что не случайно. Недалеко от Копра расположено множество горнолыжных трасс Словении, Италии, Австрии. В городе есть два городских пляжа – центральный и пляж Жустерна в 1 км от центра.

В Копре также проходят многочисленные фестивали хорового пения и не только. Среди известных можно отметить:

  • Карнавал (напоминает русскую Масленицу) – конец февраля,
  • Сладкая Истра (карнавал сладостей) – середина сентября,
  • Фестиваль Кальмаров – начало июля,
  • Желтая ночь (посвящён традициям Словении) – последний выходной июля.

В Копре находится один из основных вузов Словении – Приморский университет, основанный в 2003 году. В нём обучается приблизительно 5 400 студентов и работает более 700 преподавателей и сотрудников. Наибольшей популярностью в университете пользуются гуманитарные программы, бизнес, менеджмент, медсестринское дело и диетология, информатика, статистика, математика, туризм.

В городе базируется футбольная команда – ФК Копер, образованная в 1955 году. Она является одним из трёх клубов, выигрывавших словенский чемпионат.

Источник: fb.ru