Kranj

Kranj is the third largest city in Slovenia. It is located about 20 km from Ljubljana on the banks of the Sava and Kokra rivers at the foot of the Alps. Mountain peaks surround the city almost from all sides. On the right bank of the Sava River, there is a massive mountain Šmarjetna standing on the very outskirts of the Škofjeloško hribovje mountain group.

Kranj has an excellent transport infrastructure. The International Jože Pučnik Airport is located 7 km from the city. Kranj is connected by transport communication with all cities of Slovenia, as well as with Austria and Italy.

The city is considered a cultural, economic and sports centre of the region and one of the most beautiful cities in Slovenia. At any time of the year, Kranj offers tourists almost any kind of recreation and entertainment.

Karst caves, both dangerous and magnetic, attract tourists to the Udin boršt national park. Deep in the very heart of the caves, the roar of underground springs with the clearest transparent water can be heard.

There is the St. Kancian Church (Slovene: Cerkev svetega Kancijana) on the central square of Kranj. It is the symbol of the city and the main monument of Gothic architecture in Slovenia. Archaeological excavations have shown that in the 10th century there was an ancient sacral structure on this site. The City Hall, which combines two buildings in Gothic and classical architectural styles, is located not far from the church. The building hosts a working museum with three permanent collections of sculptures by Lojze Dolinar. Statues of the author can be seen on the Slovenia Square (Slovene: Slovenski trg).

On the central square of the city, there is the Pavšlar’s house (Slovene: Pavšlarjeva hiša) consisting of several buildings, combined with covered passages and arches.

The PUHart family gallery hosts exhibitions of photography, design, painting and even music. It also runs a number of creative workshops. The Prešeren Theatre is known for its original modern productions.

Kranj is also famous for its gastronomic tourism destinations. Tourists can smell freshly baked bread, fragrant sausages, coffee, and sweets at every corner of the city. Traditional Kranj cuisine, as well as the entire region of Upper Carniola (Slovene: Gorenjska), is interesting with its cheeses and abundance of meat dishes. Recipes include even venison.

Shrovetide in Kranj is celebrated with a grandiose fancy ball, thanks to which the city once entered the Federation of European Carnival Cities. In May, the International Bicycle Marathon Kranj-Jezersko takes place, and in the beginning of June, lovers of folklore festival Zlata Voščenka (English: Golden Wax Apple) come to Kranj.

Крань

Kranj – третий по величине город Словении – расположен примерно в 20 км от Любляны на берегах реки Sava и впадающей в неё Kokra у подножия Альп. Горные вершины окружают город почти со всех сторон. На правом берегу реки Sava находится массивная гора Šmarjetna, стоящая на самой окраине горного массива Škofjeloško hribovje.

В Kranj отличная транспортная инфраструктура. В 7 км от города расположен международный аэропорт имени Jože Pučnik. Город связан транспортным сообщением со всеми городами Словении, а также с Австрией и Италией.

Город считается культурным, экономическим и спортивным центром региона и одним из самых красивых городов в Словении. В любое время года Kranj предлагает туристам практически любой вид отдыха и развлечений.

Карстовые пещеры, одновременно опасные и притягивающие, привлекают туристов в заповедник Udin boršt. В их недрах бьют подземные родники с чистейшей прозрачной водой.

На центральной площади Kranj стоит городской символ – Cerkev svetega Kancijana, являющаяся главным памятником готики в Словении. Археологические раскопки показали, что в X веке на этом месте находилось древнее сакральное сооружение. Городская Ратуша, объединившая в себе 2 здания в готическом и классическом архитектурных стилях, находится неподалёку от церкви. В здании открыт Музей скульптора Lojze Dolinar. Статуи автора можно увидеть на Slovenski trg.

На центральной площади города расположился Pavšlarjeva hiša, состоящий из нескольких построек, объединённых крытыми переходами и арками.

В семейной галерее PUHart проходят выставки фотографии, дизайна, живописи и даже музыки. При ней действуют творческие мастерские. Своими оригинальными современными постановками известен Театр имени Прешерна.

В Kranj можно ехать и ради гастрономического туризма. На каждом углу вы почувствуете запах свежеиспечённого хлеба, ароматных колбасок, кофе, сладостей. Традиционная кухня Kranj, как и всего региона Gorenjska, интересна своими сырами и обилием мясных блюд. В рецептах используется в том числе и оленина.

Масленицу в Kranj отмечают грандиозным карнавалом, благодаря которому он в своё время вошел в Федерацию европейских карнавальных городов. В мае проходит Международный веломарафон Kranj-Jezersko, а в начале июня приезжают любители фольклорного фестиваля Zlata Voščenka («Золотое восковое яблоко»).