Maribor

The second largest city in Slovenia is located in the north-eastern part of the country at the foot of the Pohorje Mountain on the Drava River. It is the centre of the historical area of Lower Styria.

The main tourist attractions of Maribor are the Gothic Cathedral of John the Baptist (12th century), the Renaissance-style building of the municipal administration and the Maribor Castle of the 15th century. There are beautiful Baroque-style buildings on the Main Square. These are the Church of St. Aloysius, the Town Hall and the column with a statue of the Blessed Virgin Mary.

Maribor has the oldest vineyards in Europe Stara Trta, which are more than 400 years old. The famous wine house is located on the Vojašniška Street. After reconstruction, the wine house hosted a museum. The presented expositions tell about the history of winemaking in Slovenia. The oldest grapevine is included into the Guinness Book of Records. Each year, the vine yields a crop, from which about 100 bottles of unique wine, recognized for its taste qualities, are produced. The complete collection of this wine is delivered to the country leaders, and the vine itself is protected by the state.

Photo:

The University of Maribor is located in the city. It is the second largest university in Slovenia. First, the School of Economics and Commerce was established in 1959. The university received its status in 1975. At the moment, the university (active link – https://2tm.si/university-maribor/?lang=en) has 17 faculties involving about 15 thousand students and 1,800 professors, researchers and academic staff.

Many famous Slovenes studied in the University of Maribor, for example, politicians Ljudmila Novak, Radovan Žerjav and Andreja Katič, former Mayor of Maribor Franc Kangler, former President of Slovenia Janez Drnovšek, as well as the best Slovene alpine skier Tina Maze.

The mountain slopes of Pohorje are located 7 km from Maribor. In winter, the slopes of the mountains are covered with a firm snow blanket. The developed infrastructure, safe mountain slopes and good climatic conditions contributed to the fact that the World Cup in Alpine Skiing is held here every year. Therefore, the city received the status of an Alpine resort. The total length of the equipped ski slopes is 64 km.

Maribor also attracts tourists with its thermal springs. The city hosts one of the best thermal complexes in Slovenia, equipped with swimming pools, modern diagnostic equipment, saunas, and Turkish baths.

Source: fb.ru

Марибор

Второй по величине город в Словении расположен в северо-восточной части страны у подножья горы Погорье, на реке Драва. Является центром исторической области Нижняя Штирия.

Главные туристические достопримечательности Марибора – это готический Собор Иоанна Крестителя (XII век), здание муниципалитета, построенного в стиле эпохи Возрождения и Мариборский замок XV века. На Главной площади стоят здания, построенные в стиле барокко. Это церковь Святого Алоизия, ратуша и колонна со статуей Девы Марии.

В Мариборе расположены старейшие в Европе виноградники Стара трта, которым более 400 лет. Знаменитый винный дом находится на улице Вожасниска. После реконструкции в доме организовали музей. Представленные экспозиции рассказывают об истории виноделия в Словении. Старейшая виноградная лоза внесена в «Книгу рекордов Гиннеса». Ежегодно лоза дает урожай, из которого получают около 100 бутылок уникального вина, отличающегося своими вкусовыми качествами. Полная коллекция поступает первым лицам страны, а сама лоза охраняется государством.

Photo:

В городе находится Мариборский университет. Второй по размеру вуз Словении. Сначала была образована школа экономики и коммерции в 1959. Свой статус университет получил в 1975 году. На данный момент университет насчитывает 17 факультетов, на которых обучается около 15 тыс. студентов и работает 1 800 преподавателей, научных сотрудников и других.

В Университете Марибора учились и некоторые известные словенцы – например, политики Людмила Новак, Радован Жеряв и Андрея Катич, бывший мэр Марибора Франци Канглер, бывший президент Словении Янез Дрновшек, а также лучшая словенская горнолыжница Тина Мазе.

В 7 км от Марибора находятся горные склоны Похорья. Зимой склоны гор покрыты устойчивым снежным покровом. Развитая инфраструктура, безопасные горные склоны и хорошие климатические условия способствовали тому, что ежегодно здесь проходят этапы Кубка мира по горнолыжному спорту. Благодаря этому город получил статус альпийского курорта. Общая протяженность оборудованных трасс для спуска составляет 64 км.

Марибор также привлекает туристов своими термальными источниками. Здесь работает один из лучших в Словении термальный комплекс, оборудованный бассейнами, современным диагностическим оборудованием, саунами, турецкими банями.

Источник: fb.ru