Primož Roglič Wins the 17th Stage of the Tour de France Bicycle Race

Primož Roglič became the first Slovenian athlete to win the Tour de France bicycle race. He won the 17th stage of the prestigious French tour, which ran between the French cities of La Mure and Serre-Chevalie. He overcame the 183-kilometre distance in 5 hours 7 minutes and 41 seconds.

Roglič was always in the group of leaders and made a decisive breakthrough when climbing the Galibier pass – the highest point of Tour de France 2017 (2,642 metres above sea level). Roglič’s break from the pursuit group exceeded one minute to the end of the race.

Prior to that, at the 15th stage of the race, Primož Roglič became the fourth, repeating the best previous result of Slovenian cyclists at the Tour de France – the 4th place of Andrej Hauptman in 2002.

The Briton Christopher Froome preserved the leader’s yellow jersey having finished third with a lag of 1 minute and 13 seconds from Roglič. The Colombian Rigoberto Uran took the second place.

Slovenian Cyclists-Winners in the Stages of Bicycle Race Tours:

– Bicycle Race in Spain:

2009: Borut Božič

– Bicycle Race in Italy:

2014: Luka Mezgec

2015: Jan Polanc

2016: Primož Roglič

2017: Jan Polanc

– Bicycle Race in France:

2017: Primož Roglič

Results of the 17th Stage:

  1. Primož Roglič (Slovenia/LottoNl-Jumbo) 5:07:41
  2. Rigoberto Uran (Colombia/Cannondale-Drapac) + 1:13
  3. Christopher Froome (Great Britain/Sky)
  4. Romain Bardet (France/AG2R La Mondiale)
  5. Warren Barguil (France/Sunweb)–all with the same time
  6. Mikel Landa (Spain/Sky) 1:16
  7. Daniel Martin (Ireland/Quick-Step Floors) 1:43
  8. Alberto Contador (Spain/Trek-Segafredo) 1:44
  9. Louis Meintjes (Argentina/UAE Emirates)
  10. Fabio Aru (Italy/Astana)–all with the same time