The Faculty of Civil Engineering, Transportation Engineering and Architecture of the University of Maribor obtained the 2nd place in the International Student Steel Bridge Competition “Design & Construct 2016”

The “Design & Construct 2016” contest has been held annually since 2007. The students that specialize in “Civil Engineering” compete in designing and constructing a six-meter steel bridge. The evaluation criteria include aesthetics and uniqueness. Besides, the bridge weight, terms of construction, vertical and horizontal deflections are measured.

The Turkish University Bogaziçi in Istanbul organizes the project. The Boğaziçi Üniversitesi is also known as the Bosphorus University because Bogaziçi in Turkish means the Bosphorus. The University is located at the European side of the Bosphorus in Istanbul, Turkey. It was founded in 1863 under the name of Robert College and was the first American higher educational institution located outside the United States. Although today it is completely under the Turkish jurisdiction, the University continues to maintain close relations with the American system of education. This is the only Turkish university, which is among the top 200 universities in the world, according to the Times Higher Education World University Rankings, and has about 12,000 students.

Among 32 universities registered for the competition, there were the students of the Faculty of Civil Engineering, Transportation Engineering and Architecture of the University of Maribor, who completely designed and built a steel bridge. The team consisted of six students specializing in “Civil Engineering”. Now, they are the students of the first and second years under the master degree program (the “Engineering Constructions and Operation” track). Rok Murko, Vid Ljeshich, Matic Ljedinjek, Mitja Furman, Michael Kodrich and David Dobrotinshek decided to apply for participation in the competition firstly to test the acquired knowledge and try their hand in competing with their peers at the international level.

They also wanted to represent the Faculty of Civil Engineering of the University of Maribor at this prestigious competition and surpass the result of the senior colleagues, who had taken the 2nd place at the competition in 2014. The students defend the honour of Slovenia from 10 to 16 April 2016 and became one of the 16 teams that managed to be prequalified for the contest. The fifth place went to the colleagues from Belgrade; the fourth place went to the team from Zagreb; and the third — to the Turkish team from the University of Osmangazi. We are pleased and proud to announce that the second place was taken by our faculty students who are just a bit behind the team of the Karadeniz Teknik University from Turkey.

Source: fg.um.si

Университет Марибора, факультет строительства, транспортной инженерии и архитектуры: 2-е место в международном студенческом конкурсе на проектирование и строительство стальных мостов

Конкурс Design and Construct 2016 проводится ежегодно с 2007 года. Студенты специальности «Строительство» соревнуются в проектировании и строительстве шестиметрового стального моста. Оцениваются эстетичность и уникальность, а также измеряются масса моста, длительность строительства, вертикальное и горизонтальное отклонение.

Проект организует турецкий университет Bogaziçi из Стамбула. Boğaziçi Üniversitesi, также известный как Босфорский университет, ведь Bogaziçi на турецком языке означает Босфор; расположен университет на европейской стороне Босфора в Стамбуле, Турция. Он был основан в 1863 году под именем Robert College и был первым американским высшим учебным заведением, расположенным за пределами США. Хотя на сегодняшний день он полностью находится под турецкой юрисдикцией, университет продолжает поддерживать тесные связи с американской системой образования. Это – единственный турецкий университет, который входит в число 200 лучших университетов мира, согласно рейтингу Times Higher Education World University Rankings, и насчитывает около 12 000 студентов.

На конкурс в числе 32 зарегистрированных университетов также квалифицировались студенты факультета строительства, транспортной инженерии и архитектуры университета Марибора, которые полностью разработали и построили стальной мост. Команда состояла из шести студентов по специальности «Строительство»; в настоящее время – студенты первого и второго курса магистратуры (направление «Строительные конструкции и эксплуатация»). Рок Мурко, Вид Лешич, Матиц Лединек, Митья Фурман, Михаэль Кодрич и Давид Добротиншек решили подать заявку на участие в конкурсе, в первую очередь, чтобы опробовать полученные знания и свои силы в конкуренции со сверстниками на международном уровне.

Они также хотели снова представить строительный факультет Мариборского университета на этом престижном конкурсе и превзойти результат старших коллег, которые на конкурсе в 2014 году заняли 2-е место. Студенты защищали честь Словении с 10 по 16 апреля 2016 года и стали одной из 16 команд, сумевших пройти предварительный отбор на конкурс. Пятое место досталось коллегам из Белграда, четвёртое место заняла команда из Загреба, третье – турецкая команда из университета Osmangazi. С удовольствием и гордостью мы можем объявить, что второе место досталось студентам нашего факультета, которые лишь немного уступили команде университета Karadeniz Teknik из Турции.

Источник: fg.um.si