The University of Ljubljana to Head the New European University Alliance EUTOPIA

The University of Ljubljana will head the new European University Alliance EUTOPIA. On Wednesday, 12 December 2018, the University of Ljubljana held a solemn signing of a memorandum on inclusion in this organisation. It was founded by the University of Warwick (Great Britain), the University of Paris Sein (Paris, France), and the Free (Vrije) University of Brussels (Brussels, Belgium). On 12 December, two more new members joined the alliance – the Pompeu Fabra University (Barcelona, Spain) and the University of Gothenburg (Sweden). The University of Ljubljana will act as the coordinator.

The new university alliance EUTOPIA was established within the framework of the European initiative “Universities of the Future” proposed by the President of France, Emmanuel Macron. The universities will prepare a joint application for the competition announced by the European Commission. The objectives of the competition are to encourage greater mobility, high quality education and research; strengthen links between teaching, research, innovation and knowledge transfer, with a focus on the benefits of learning in different languages, recognition of diplomas and the development of joint educational and scientific programmes and projects.